# **CURRICULUM COMMITTEE (Appointed)**

Academic Senate Sub Committee

(Meeting time: 1<sup>st</sup> & 3<sup>rd</sup> Thursday at 3:05 P.M.)

### **Purpose**

The Curriculum Committee shall serve in an advisory capacity to the Academic Senate by developing policy recommendations which the Board of Trustees have elected to "rely primarily" on the advice and judgment of the Academic Senate, and for which the Curriculum Committee shall provide policy recommendations and procedures are:

- 1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines;
- 2. Degree and certificate requirements;
- 3. Grading policies.

In addition, graduation requirements, general education requirements, transfer requirements, articulation agreements and other matters relating to the curriculum may be reviewed by the Curriculum Committee for formulating policy recommendations and procedures to the Academic Senate.

The Curriculum Committee shall also serve in an advisory capacity to the Academic Senate and the Chief Executive Officer, as the Board of Trustees designee, on academic and professional matters on areas where mutual agreement must be reached before being submitted to the Board of Trustees. The eight areas that the Curriculum Committee shall provide policy recommendations procedures to the Academic Senate and the Chief Executive Officer are:

- 1. Educational Program development
- 2. Standards of policies regarding student preparation and success
- 3. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles
- 4. Faculty roles and development in accreditation processes
- 5. Policies for faculty professional development activities
- 6. Processes for program review
- 7. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
- 8. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon

In addition, community needs assessments, instructional methodologies, catalog and schedule development, and other matters relating to programs and instruction may also be reviewed by the Curriculum Committee for formulating policy recommendations and procedures to the Academic Senate and the Chief Executive Officer.

## Composition

The voting members shall be the Chief Instructional Officer (CIO); Academic Senate Representative (Chair); Department Chairpersons; World Languages and Speech Communication Coordinator; Mathematics/Engineering Coordinator; Distance Education Coordinator; Disabled Student Programs and Services Director; Counseling Representative; Articulation Officer; Assistant Librarian; and Associated Student Government Representative.

The consulting members shall be the Division Deans; Basic Skills Coordinator; Vice President for Student Services; Director of Admissions and Records; Matriculation Director; Child, Family and Consumer Sciences Director; Transfer Center Director; Non-Credit Coordinator; and SLO Coordinator.

## **Voting Members**

- Kathy Berry, Chief Instructional Officer
- Michael Heumann, Academic Senate Representative (Chair)
- Kevin White, Behavioral/Social Science Department Chair
- Tina Aguirre, Nursing and Allied Health Department Chair
- David Drury, Exercise Science/Wellness/Sport Department Chair
- Daniel Gilison, Science/Math and Engineering Department Chair
- Carol Hegarty, Humanities and World Languages Department Chair
- James Patterson, English Department Chair
- Leticia Pastrana, ESL Department Chair
- Jose Lopez, Industrial Technology Department Chair

- Craig Blek, Business Department Chair
- Jose Ruiz, World Languages and Speech Communication Coordinator
- Rick Castrapel, Mathematics/Engineering Coordinator
- David Zielinski, Distance Education Coordinator
- Veronica Soto, Articulation Officer
- Norma Nava, Disabled Student Programs and Services Director
- Norma Nunez, Counseling Representative
- Cathy Zazueta, Assistant Librarian
- Lisa Tylenda, Associated Student Government Representative

## **Consultants**

- Tina Aguirre, Dean of Health and Sciences
- Ted Cesar, Dean of Counseling
- Taylor Ruhl, Dean of Arts, Letters and Learning Services
- Efrain Silva, Dean of Economic and Workforce Development/Non-Credit Coordinator
- Victor Jaime, President/Superintendent, Interim Vice President for Student Services
- Gloria Carmona, Director of Admissions and Records
- Veronica Soto, Transfer Center Director
- Norma Nunez, Matriculation Director
- · Becky Green, Child, Family and Consumer Sciences Director
- Frank Rapp, Basic Skills Coordinator
- Sydney Rice, SLO Coordinator