

Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Continuous Accreditation Readiness Team (CART) Tuesday, October 16, 2018, 3:30 p.m., Board Room

Voting Members (SEMPC Co-Chairs Count as 1 Vote)	Consultants
☑ Dr. Christina Tafoya –VP, Academic Services/ALO	☐ Dr. Martha Garcia — Superintendent/President
☐ Sydney Rice – Dept. Chair, ESL	☐ Deedee Garcia – VP, Administrative Services
☑ Andrew Robinson – Dept. Chair, ESW	☐ Dr. Lennor Johnson—Interim VP, Student Services
☑ Dr. Michael Heumann – Dept. Chair, English	Efrain Silva – Dean, Economic & Workforce Dev.
☐ Jill Nelipovich – Dept. Chair, Math and Engineering	Dr. Robert Price – Dean, Health & Public Safety
☑ Dr. Lennor Johnson – SEMPC Co-Chair	☑ David Zielinski – Dean, Arts, Letters & Learning Services
☑ Efrain Silva – SEMPC Co- Chair	☐ David Drury – Dean, Math & Sciences
☐ Dr. Cuauhtemoc Carboni – Academic Senate Faculty Rep	☐ Roberta Webster — Interim Associate Dean, Nursing & Allied Health
☑ Linda Amidon – College Council Rep	☐ Sergio Pesqueira — Interim Dean, Counseling & Special Projects
☑ Alan Lara – Associated Student Government Rep	☐ Victor Torres - Dean, Student Affairs & Enroll. Services
	☐ Betsy Lane — Associate Dean, Workforce Prep & Community Special Projects
CART Co-Chairs	☐ Cecilia Duron – Director, Fiscal Services
☐ Dr. James Patterson –Accreditation Coordinator	☐ Jose Carrillo – Director, Institutional Research
☑ Dr. Robert Price – Dean, Health & Public Safety	☐ Kevin Howell – SLO Coordinator
	☐ Cynthia Spence — Basic Skills Coordinator
Visitors	☐ Xochitl Tirado – Distance Ed Coordinator
Clint Dougherty, CHRO	☑ Mary Jo Wainwright – CTA Representative
	Recorder
	☑ Linda Amidon

a. Call to Order

The regular meeting of the Continuous Accreditation Readiness Team (CART) was called to order at 3:31 p.m. by CIO/ALO Dr. Christina Tafoya.

b. Approval of Minutes from October 2, 2018

➤ The minutes from the October 2, 2018, meeting were approved as presented.

c. Action Items [Amendments to the Bylaws requires 2/3/ vote of those present.]

- 1. Amend Bylaws voting membership to include:
 - a. All department chairs or their designees;
 - b. A representative from Counseling;
 - c. A representative from Human Resources;
 - d. A representative from Administrative Services
 - > M/S/C Heumann/Silva to amend the voting membership in the Bylaws to include:
 - All department chairs or their designees;
 - A representative from Counseling;
 - A representative from Human Resources;
 - A representative from Administrative Services
 - CTA Representative Mary Jo Wainwright stated that she signs the ISER in her capacity as CTA President to indicate there are no violations of the CTA Contract. She noted that although discussed previously, her role as a consultant to CART is not reflected in the Bylaws. Recommendation was made to add the CTA representative as a consultant in the Bylaws, consistent with the CART membership reflected in the minutes.

d. Discussion

1. Campus Presentation (PowerPoint) – Alan Lara, ASG Senator

> ASG representative Alan Lara was not present to make the PowerPoint presentation.

2. November 14 Presentation to Board of Trustees

- Prior to the board's first reading of the ISER on November 14, 2018, a board retreat/study session will take place on October 29, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. and accreditation will be one of the items on the agenda. Accreditation Coordinator/CART Co-Chair Dr. Patterson and CIO/ALO Dr. Tafoya will present a PowerPoint at the retreat/study session.
- > VP Tafoya presented for member feedback the start of the PowerPoint for the retreat/study session. She stated she had used the PowerPoint developed by CART for the campus presentations and updated it to focus on Standard IV. Governing Board.
 - Members recommended adding a few items, including: what to expect in meetings with the
 evaluation team; training; board participation in ISER development; a recap of
 recommendations from the last ISER and resolutions.

e. Adjournment

- The meeting was adjourned at 3:47 p.m.
- > CTA President Mary Jo Wainwright is reviewing the ISER and will send her review list to CART Co-Chair/ Accreditation Coordinator Dr. Patterson.

Next Meeting: 6 November 2018