

Approved Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Continuous Accreditation Readiness Team (CART) Tuesday, August 15, 2017, 3:30 p.m., Board Room

Voting Members (SEMPC Co-Chairs Count as 1 Vote )	Consultants
☑ Dr. Nick Akinkuoye – VP, Academic Services/ALO	Dr. Victor Jaime – Superintendent/President
☑ Sydney Rice – Dept. Chair, ESL	John Lau – VP, Administrative Services
Andrew Robinson – Dept. Chair, ESW	Dr. Martha Garcia – VP, Studrnt Services
🗹 Dr. Michael Heumann – Dept. Chair, English	Efrain Silva – Dean, Economic & Workforce Dev.
Allyn Leon – Dept. Chair, Math and Engineering	Tina Aguirre – Dean, Health & Public Safety
Jose Velasquez – Dept. Chair, ITEC	David Zielinski – Dean, Arts, Letters & Learning Services
Dr. Lennor Johnson – SEMPC Co-Chair	☑ David Drury – Dean, Math & Sciences
Efrain Silva – SEMPC Co- Chair	Dr. Lennor Johnson – Dean of Counseling & Special Projects
Cuauhtemoc Carboni – Academic Senate Faculty Rep	Dean, Student Affairs & Enroll. Services
🗹 Erica Aguilar – College Council Rep	Carlos Fletes – Director, Fiscal Services
Kyle Deol – Associated Student Government Rep	Jose Carrillo – Director, Institutional Research
	Kevin Howell – SLO Co-coordinator
CART Co-Chairs	Jill Kitzmiller – SLO Co-coordinator
Dr. James Patterson – Accreditation Coordinator	Audrey Morris – Basic Skills Coordinator
🗹 Tina Aguirre – Dean, Health & Public Safety	Xochitl Tirado – Distance Ed Coordinator
	Kathy Rodriguez – CTA Representative
Visitors	Recorder
☑ Mary Jo Wainwright – CTA	🗹 Linda Amidon
Matthew Thale, BFPC Co-Chair	

#### A. Call to Order

The regular meeting of the Continuous Accreditation Readiness Team (CART) was called to order at 3:32 p.m. by CART Co-Chair/Accreditation Coordinator Dr. James Patterson

# B. Approval of Minutes from June 6, 2017

- The minutes of the June 6, 2017, meeting were approved as modified (i.e., p. 3, second Whereas, "two or three action projects..." changed to "one to three action projects...")
- Dr. Patterson will present CART's recommendations to the Academic Senate at its second meeting (September 6)

#### C. Update on Items

#### 1. ISER Goals for Fall 2017

> The following updates were provided:

Team Leads	Standards	Status
Tina Aguirre James	Federal Regulations and related	Clarification regarding the Commission Policies will
Patterson	Commission Policies (8)	be made at the next meeting
Martha Garcia	I.A. Mission (Standards 1-4)	Dr. Garcia is currently working on the Standards and will submit soon
Efrain Silva	I.B. Quality (4 remaining)	5 Standards completed; working on remaining 4
Lennor Johnson	I.C. Institutional Integrity (5 remaining)	5 Standards completed; the list of Standards to be worked on this fall will be provided at the next meeting
Dave Drury	II.A. Instructional Programs	6 Standards completed,12 Standards remaining; II.B Team Lead Zielinski will join Team II.A
David Zielinski	II.B. Library and Learning Services	All assigned II.B Standards have been drafted and submitted
?	II.C. Student Support Services	A replacement team lead will be identified by October 1 or after the September board meeting
Clint Dougherty	III.A. Human Resources	5 Standards drafted and awaiting CHRO review; Dr. Patterson will meet with Clint to determine how he wants to proceed with the remaining Standards

Rick Webster	III.B. Physical Resources	Continuing. Dr. Patterson will meet with Rick before the next CART meeting
Jeff Enz	III.C. Technology Resources	Continuing. Dr. Patterson will meet with Jeff Enz before the next CART meeting
John Lau	III.D. Financial Resources	BFPC Co-chair Matthew Thale reported that he and CBO John Lau have been meeting and are making progress, currently have bullet points for all Standards and will submit some drafts soon
Nicholas Akinkuoye	IVA, IVB, IVC. Leadership & Governance	Submitted 7 of 26 Standards

- > The list of all Standards to be addressed this fall will be confirmed at the next CART meeting
- Standards II.A, III.D, and IV could use additional help; Dr. Patterson will present this need at the August 16, 2017, Academic Senate meeting
- ▶ It was suggested that department chairs on SEMPC be approached to assist with the ISER
- SEMPC Co-Chair Efrain Silva reported that SEMPC will resume its regular meeting schedule; SEMPC's primary goals are to address progress on the SEMP goals and adhering to program review timelines; he announced that this year's deadline for program review including enhanced budget requests is December 1, 2017, and that SPOL will be locked after this time

## 2. Dynamic Institutional Self Evaluation (D-ISER) Presentation

- Dr. Patterson presented the Dynamic Institutional Self Evaluation as an outline of the selfevaluation report; the report is currently a webpage on Dr. Patterson's faculty webpage; draft responses to Standards completed to date are linked in the D-ISER
- CART will work this year with President's Cabinet, the Academic Senate, and College Council to assign all pieces of the ISER to different groups on campus, e.g., Standard III.B-Physical Resources would be assigned to the Environmental Health & Facilities Committee, and to review the Standards on an annual basis so the college is continually ready
- CART will address recommendations made or action plans identified during review of the Standards before the ISER is submitted
- > Clarification regarding the ISER submission date will be obtained

## D. Creating a Culture of Continuous Improvement

- Dr. Patterson noted that CART held discussions regarding this subject last year, and "Creating a Culture of Assessment" was the topic of a breakout session at the 2017 Accreditation Conference;
- Dr. Patterson purchased a book, *Transforming Schools: Creating a Culture of Continuous Improvement*, which presents a plan with six major steps for moving from an "incompetent system" to a "competent system;" he offered to purchase additional copies of the book for interested voting CART members for review and discussion

## E. Adjournment

> The meeting was adjourned at 3:57 p.m.

## Next Meeting: Tuesday, August 29, 2017