Imperial Valley College Academic Senate Minutes Wednesday, 6 November 2019 2:40 PM Board Room

A. Call to Order by the President: at 2:42 p.m.

Roll call by Secretary

Present: Mary Lofgren (President), Craig Blek, Jeff Burt, Gilbert Campos, Steven Cauchon, Jesus Esqueda, Kristen Gomez, Melani Guinn, Diane Harris, Joe Henderson, Eric Lehtonen, Daniel Ortiz, James Patterson, Helena Quintana, Ed Scheuerell, Veronica Soto, Jia Sun, Austen Thelen, Xochitl Tirado, Elizabeth Trevino, Ed Wells, Christina Tafoya (VP Academic Services), Moises Hernandez (ASG President)

Excused: Ric Epps, Margarita Vizcarra, Cathy Zazueta

Absent: Temo Carboni, Jose Plascencia, Jose Roman, Michael Heumann (Past President)

Visitors: Claudia Aguilar, Beatriz Avila, Clint Dougherty, Elizabeth Espinoza, Martha Garcia, Lennor

Johnson, David Poor, Efrain Silva, Lisa Solomon, Mary Jo Wainwright

B. Visitor's Comments

Ed Wells requested to be involved in the deliberations of the Calendar Committee to better address the needs of POST scheduling.

Dr. Martha Garcia thanked the faculty and staff of Imperial Valley College. The Aspen Institute has named IVC as a "Top 150 US Community College." This recognition allows IVC to participate in the application process for a \$1 million Aspen Prize.

C. President's Report

President Lofgren mentioned that the ASCCC Fall Plenary Session would begin on November 7 and that Ric Epps would be attending as the IVC representative. Mary Lofgren attended the State Assembly with Dr. Martha Garcia where our Academic Senate diversity was applauded. Mary Lofgren also reminded senators that the Region X Guided Pathways meeting on November 22 had some seats still available for registration.

D. Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Trevino reported a balance of \$3,459.18.

E. ASG President's Report

ASG President Hernandez noted that this was Spirit Week at IVC. Friday would be high school alumni day. He also reported preparations for the IVC Thanksgiving lunch on November 12.

F. Presentation(s)

- 1. AP 3900 Speech: Time, Place, and Manner Dr. Johnson highlighted the revised language in the administrative procedures which the Senate would vote on later in the meeting. He also responded to several questions from senators.
- 2. Welcome and Equity Center Dr. Johnson provided the Senate with an update on the planned Welcome Center in the 400 bldg. He noted that input is still being accepted.

G. Consent Agenda

 Approval of Academic Senate minutes for 16 October 2019 [Lehtonen/Wells/approved]

H. Action Items

- Approve updates to AP 3900 Speech: Time, Place, and Manner [M/S/C Guinn/Trevino]
- 2. Adoption of the OEI rubric to replace IVC-developed rubric effective Spring 2020 [M/S/C Tirado/Soto]
- 3. Adoption of the DE Committee recommended <u>Petition</u> for @ONE Coursework Equivalency [M/S/C Tirado/Thelen]
- 4. Policies & Procedures for Web-Enhanced Classes [M/S/C Tirado/Lehtonen as amended] (Senator Wells voted no)
- 5. Approval of updates to Standing Committees section of the Academic Senate bylaws [M/S/C Patterson/Henderson]

I. Discussion

AP 4260 Prerequisites and Co-requisites / College Catalog Challenge Process – James
Patterson provided information and compared texts for AP 4260 and the Prerequisite
Challenge Process described in the College Catalog.

A number of issues were mentioned by senators and guests. Some suggested changes were offered. It was noted that there is an unwritten process that takes place between the submission of the Challenge form and the form being sent to the department chair. Several noted that the timelines need to be adjusted.

President Lofgren announced she would establish an ad hoc group to reconcile the Catalog language with the AP language. The following individuals were named to the ad hoc committee: Kristen Gomez, Jia Sun, Austen Thelen, Daniel Gillison, and two ASG representatives will begin work in February. Their recommendations will need Curriculum Committee and Academic Senate approval before the new language can be printed in the 2020-2021 College Catalog

J. Adjournment

[M/S/C Patterson/Guinn] to adjourn given the time (4:02 p.m.)

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the IVC Academic Senate record the votes of all committee members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.